Enter your ZIP Code
to get insurance quotes in your area
South Carolina Car Insurance
Save Big Money with South Carolina Car Insurance
Drivers in the state are required to me minimum requirements for car insurance in South Carolina. If you make a claim in the state, your claim can be reduced if you are found to be partially at fault for the accident. If you have questions about South Carolina car insurance we can help you answer them. Either way, make sure to take advantage of our free quote to get the best car insurance rates!
Minimum Coverage Mandated in South Carolina
South Carolina car insurance law mandates that both liability coverage and uninsured motorist coverage are included in your auto insurance policy.
The minimum limits when it comes to liability coverage are:
- $25,000 for bodily injury or death, per person
- $50,000 for bodily injury or death, per accident
- $25,000 for property damage
The minimum limits when it comes to uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage are:
- $25,000 for bodily injury, per person
- $50,000 for bodily injury, per accident
- $25,000 for property damage, per accident
Liability coverage helps cover the expenses associated with accidents you are responsible for. This includes injuries to the other driver and/or passengers and damages done to another person’s property. You can opt to buy more than the minimum amount to further protect yourself if an accident happens.
Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage helps when you are in an accident with another driver that is not insured, or that does not have enough insurance to cover your expenses. Keep in mind that a registered uninsured driver who causes an accident must pay for medical costs out of pocket. A registered uninsured driver is not covered by uninsured motorist coverage. You can opt to buy more than the minimum amount to further protect yourself if an accident happens.
Other Optional Insurance Coverage
Collision Insurance: Regardless of who is at fault, this helps take care of your repair costs associated with a traffic accident involving another driver or object
Comprehensive Insurance: Damage from sources such as fire, vandalism, and theft are covered under comprehensive insurance. It also helps cover other non-accident related sources of damage.
Personal Injury Protection (PIP): No-fault insurance. Regardless of who is at fault, this helps pay for your medical costs if injured in a traffic accident.
Lease Gap Insurance (GAP): This protects you if you owe money on your car and get into an accident.
Towing and labor: If your car needs to be towed, this insurance will cover that cost. It also covers some labor costs.
If you lease or finance your vehicle, your lender may require that you buy comprehensive or collision coverage as part of your terms.
Proof of Insurance
If you are involved in an accident or pulled over by a police officer, you are required to provide proof of insurance. If you are a registered uninsured motorist, you can show you (approved) application.
If you do not have proof of insurance or are driving without insurance, you can be fined or given jail time. If you are unable to provide the South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles proof of insurance within 30 days (15 days if you are in an accident), your driver’s license could be suspended or other penalties can be administered.
We can help you get the best South Carolina car insurance rates, and quotes are free. If you have questions about types of insurance, discounts, or anything else you need to know about purchasing auto insurance, we are here. Our car insurance quotes are cost-free and hassle-free, so contact us today. We look forward to servicing your South Carolina car insurance needs!