Enter your ZIP Code
to get insurance quotes in your area
There are two ways in Virginia to meet driver responsibility requirements. The easiest is to purchase an auto insurance policy that meets the minimum limits required by law. The second is to pay Virginia’s Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) to drive uninsured. Either way, you must be able to prove financial responsibility in case a traffic accident occurs. Here are some details about Virginia car insurance to help keep you informed. You can use them to make the best decision when purchasing an auto insurance policy.
Liability insurance helps pay for the costs of injury and damage to others if an accident is your fault. The minimum limits for liability coverage in Virginia are:
In addition, you must have uninsured motorist coverage. This, in combination with underinsured motorist coverage, helps to protect you if you are in an accident where the other driver does not have insurance. They also help cover the costs when the other (uninsured/underinsured) driver does not have adequate insurance to cover the expenses from the accident. The minimums for uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage are as follows:
You can also pay an uninsured motor vehicle fee of $500 (in addition to your registration fee) when you register your car. This fee applies when you are either unwilling or unable to get insurance at the time you register your car. This fee, which is paid at the DMV, allows you to drive for 12 months without insurance. Paying this fee does not mean you have insurance. It also will not provide you any financial protection if an accident occurs. The fee can be less if you wish to uninsured for a period of shorter than 12 months.
Collision Coverage: This covers damages to your car as the result of a collision. This helps with the costs regardless of who is determined to be at fault in the accident.
Comprehensive Liability: This covers damages to your car as the result of things that are not covered in collision coverage.
Medical Payments Coverage: This covers your medical costs and/or funeral costs from a car accident. This helps with the costs regardless of who is determined to be at fault in the accident.
If you are financing or leasing a car in the state, you are may be required to purchase collision and comprehensive coverage. If you do not purchase these, there is an action that the lending company can take called forced-plate insurance, the cost this is added to you’re your bill with the company. This protects the lender, but not you. It does not satisfy your requirements under Virginia car insurance law.
Virginia uses both traffic stops, accident response, and electronic systems to help catch people that drive uninsured in the state. If you are found to be driving without insurance, you can have your license plates, car registration, and driver’s license suspended. In addition, there may be fines and fees given out. In order to reinstate your license plates, car registration, and drivers license you will have to pay a $500 fine. Also, you will have to file an SR-22, which is a proof of insurance certification. Lastly, you will need to pay a drivers license reinstatement fee, which ranges anywhere from $145 to $220.
An SR-22 certification verifies that you are compliant with Virginia car insurance minimum limits. This certification is required after things such as a hit-and-run accident, a car-related felony conviction, and driving without insurance. There is a separate certification for a DUI or limited other situations called an FR-44. It requires you to carry a much higher minimum limit when it comes to your automobile insurance.
Many auto insurance companies offer drivers discounts! There are a number of factors that can qualify you for discounts and help you get the cheap car insurance befitting your needs. Sometimes it is a good idea to ask your car insurance company about discounts to get the least expensive car insurance premium you can. Other discount possibilities include:
We are happy to offer free car insurance quotes that can help you fit your needs for cheap auto insurance, discounts are an important variable. We can help you answer questions and find the best auto insurance policy for you.
|Rank||City||Avg. Annual Premium|
Top Cities in State
11440 W. Bernardo Court, San Diego CA 92127American Insurance - auto, health, home and life insurance provider.