Error message

  • Warning: file_get_contents(): SSL operation failed with code 1. OpenSSL Error messages: error:14090086:SSL routines:ssl3_get_server_certificate:certificate verify failed in _ins_oz_ipapi() (line 742 of /var/www/vhosts/americaninsurance.com/public_html/sites/all/modules/insurance/ins_oz/ins_oz.module).
  • Warning: file_get_contents(): Failed to enable crypto in _ins_oz_ipapi() (line 742 of /var/www/vhosts/americaninsurance.com/public_html/sites/all/modules/insurance/ins_oz/ins_oz.module).
  • Warning: file_get_contents(https://ipapi.co/3.238.117.130/postal/): failed to open stream: operation failed in _ins_oz_ipapi() (line 742 of /var/www/vhosts/americaninsurance.com/public_html/sites/all/modules/insurance/ins_oz/ins_oz.module).

Enter your ZIP Code
to get insurance quotes in your area

Wrong zip code

State Laws For Teen Drivers

State Laws for teen drivers vary from state to state and have a system in place designed to keep younger drivers safer on the road. There are three stages in young drivers. Learners, intermediate, and finally full privilege. Many students take driver's education in high school. Through experience and driver's education, they get full privileges where younger drivers are considered full drivers and adults. Below is a state by state breakdown of pertinent laws with regard to younger drivers.

State Laws For Teen Drivers

Alabama. The minimum age of entry for a learner’s permit is 15. They must maintain a learner’s permit for 5 months and drive 50 hours behind the wheel. The intermediate stage begins at 16 and disallows driving between midnight and 6 am. They can only have one passenger and are allowed full privilege at 17 with a minimum of 6 months of driving.

Alaska. Minimum age of entry is14 with six months at learners and 40 hours of driving including 10 hours in darkness or inclement weather. The intermediate phase starts at 16 years old with a curfew between 1 am and 5 am. They are allowed no passengers under the age of 21 as an intermediate driver. They reach full privilege at 16 after six months of driving.

Arizona. Arizona teens can get their learners to permit at 15.5 and must hold their learners for six months and must drive a minimum of 30 hours including 10 at night. Intermediate at 16 with a curfew between midnight and 5 am with no more than one passenger under the age of 18. Younger drivers are allowed full privileges at 16 after six months of driving.

Arkansas. 14-year-olds can get a learner’s permit for 6 months. They can also drive with a permit after they pass a written test. Intermediate at 16 with a curfew between 11 pm and 4 am. No more than one passenger under 21. Full privileges at 18.

California teens can get their learners to permit at 15.5 and must hold their learners for six months and must drive a minimum of 50 hours including 10 at night. Intermediate at 16 with a curfew between 11 pm and 5 am. First six months no passenger under 20 years of age. License applicants who didn't take driver's education have to wait until they're 18 for full privileges. With driver’s education full privilege at 17.

Colorado. Learner's permit at 15 and they must hold it for 12 months. 50 hours of supervised driving including 10 hours at night. At 15 drivers enrolled in a driver’s education class can apply for an instruction permit. Intermediate at 16 with a curfew between midnight and 5 am. No passengers for the first six months and one passenger past six months. Full privilege at 17.

Connecticut. Learner's permit at 16 six months with learners permit or four months with driver's education. The intermediate stage at 16 and four months with a curfew between 11 pm and 5 am.  Full privilege at 17 with four months driving with passengers and 18 for nighttime driving.

Delaware. 16 years old for learners permit for six months with 50 hours of supervised driving with 10 hours performed at night. The intermediate stage at 16-and-a-half curfew between 10 pm and 6 am. Only one passenger allowed at this stage. Under 18 must have a seat belt on or face a two-month suspension and anyone under 18 must complete driver's education. Full privilege at 17.

District of Columbia. 16 and at least six months for learners with 40 hours supervised driving. 10-night driving hours required at the intermediate level. Learner’s permit required for all applicants regardless of age. Drivers in the learner’s stage aren’t allowed to drive between 9 pm and 6 am. Intermediate allowed at 16 and a half. Curfew Sept.-June: 11 pm -6 am Sun-Thurs, Midnight-6am. F-Sa; July-Aug.: Midnight-6am. First six months no passengers after that no more than two passengers under 18. Full privilege at 18.

Florida. Learner's at 15 for twelve months. 50 hours supervised driving with 10 hours at night. Learner’s permit drivers can’t drive between sunset and sunrise for the first three months. Intermediate phase at 16. Curfew 11 pm to 6 am at 16 and 1 am to 5 am at 17. Full privilege at 18.

Georgia. Learner's at 15 for twelve months. 40 hours supervised driving with 6 at night. Intermediate phase at 16 with a curfew from midnight to 5 am. First six months no passengers, second six months no more than 1 younger than age 21 after no more than 3 passengers. Full privilege at 18.

Hawaii. Learner's at 15 and a half for six months. 50 hours supervised driving with 10 at night. Full privilege at 17. **

Idaho. Learner's at 14 and a half for six months. 50 hours supervised driving with 10 at night. The state has three learner’s permit levels. Driver training for drivers 14 and a half with supervised instruction with a nonprofessional supervisor. An instruction permit for 17-year-olds who completed driver education and supervised driving.  And drivers who are 17 and older without driver education or supervised driving. Full privilege15 with six months of driving with passengers and 16 for nighttime driving.

Illinois. Learner's at 15 for nine months. 50 hours supervised driving with 10 at night. Driver education allowed for 15-year-old permit applicants. Permit applicants without driver education allowed at 17 years and three months. Full privilege17 with six months of driving with passengers and 18 for nighttime driving.

Indiana. Learner's at 15 for six months with 50 hours supervised driving with 10 at night. 17 and three months without driver's ed. Full privilege18 for nighttime driving.

Iowa. Learner's at 14 at twelve months with 20 hours supervised driving with 2 hours at night. Full privilege at 17.

Kansas. Learner's at 14 for twelve months with 50 hours supervised driving with 10 hours at night. 15-year-old drivers can drive without supervision to and from work or school. 15-year-old drivers can get a restricted license if they complete driver education. Full privilege at 16 years old and six months.

Kentucky. Learner's at 16 for six months with 60 hours supervised driving with 10 hours at night. Full privilege at 17.

Louisiana. Learner's at 15 for six months with 50 hours supervised driving with 15 hours at night. Driver education required for a permit for people under 17 years old. Full privilege at 17.

Maine. Learner's at 15 for six months with 70 hours supervised driving with 10 hours at night.  Full privilege at 16 and nine months.

Maryland. Learner's at 15 for nine months with 70 hours supervised driving with 10 hours at night. Full privilege 16 years and eleven months to drive with passengers. 18 for nighttime driving.

Massachusetts. Learner's at 16 for six months with 40 hours supervised driving with 30 hours of advanced driver training. Full privilege at 17 with passengers and 18 for nighttime driving.

Michigan. Learner's permit at 14 and nine months for six months with 50 hours supervised driving 10 at night. Full privilege at 17.

Minnesota. Learner's at 15 for six months with 50 hours supervised driving with 15 hours at night or 40 hours with 15 night if parents take a safety course. Full privilege 16 with six months for nighttime driving and 17 of driving with passengers.

Mississippi. Learner's at 15 for twelve. Full privileges at 16 years old and six months.

Missouri. Learner's at 15 for six months with 40 hours supervised driving with 10 hours at night. Full privilege at 18.

Montana. Learner's at 14 and a half for six months with 50 hours supervised driving with 10 hours at night. Full privilege at 16.

Nebraska. Learner's at 15 for six months with 50 hours supervised driving with 10 hours at night or none with driver's education. Full privilege 16 years and six months to drive with passengers. 17 for nighttime driving.

Nevada. Learner's at 15 and a half for six months with 50 hours supervised driving with 10 hours at night. Full privilege 16 years to drive with passengers. 18 for nighttime driving.

New Hampshire. No learner’s permits. At 15-and-a-half teens can drive while supervised by a licensed driver who’s at least 25. Full privileges at 16 years and six months driving with passengers. 17 years and one month for nighttime driving

New Jersey. Learner's at 16 and a half for six months. The intermediate phase comes at 17. Full privilege at 21.

New Mexico. Learner's at 15 for six months with 50 hours supervised driving with 10 hours at night. Full privilege at 16 and six months.

New York. Learner's at 16 for six months with 50 hours supervised driving with 15 hours at night. Full privileges with driver’s education at 17 and 18 without driver’s education.

North Carolina. Learner's at 15 for twelve months with 60 hours supervised driving with 10 hours at night. Full privilege at 16 and six months.

North Dakota. Learner's at 14 for twelve months or 16 for six months or until 18. Under 16 50 hours supervised driving over 16 none. Full privilege at 16.

Ohio. Learner's at 15 and a half for six months with 50 hours supervised driving with 10 hours at night. Full privilege 17 years to drive with passengers. 18 for nighttime driving

Oklahoma. Learner's at 15 and a half for six months with 50 hours supervised driving with 10 hours at night. With driver’s, education full privileges begin at 16 and six months. 17 without driver’s education.

Oregon. Learner's at 15 for six months with 50 hours supervised driving or 100 hours without driver's education. Full privilege at 17.

Pennsylvania. Learner's at 16 for six months with 65 hours supervised driving with 10 hours at night and 5 hours of inclement weather. Full privilege at 17 with driver’s education and twelve months free of a crash or conviction. Full privileges at 18 without driver’s education

Rhode Island. Learner's at 16 for six months with 50 hours supervised driving with 10 hours at night. Driver's education required for a permit under for drivers under 18. Full privilege at 17 and six months.

South Carolina. Learner's at 15 for six months with 40 hours supervised driving with 10 hours at night. Full privilege at 16 and six months.

South Dakota. Learner's at 14 for six months or three months with driver's education. Full privilege at 16.

Tennessee. Learner's at 15 for six months with 50 hours supervised driving with 10 hours at night. Full privilege at 17.

Texas. Learner's at 15 for six months with 30 hours supervised driving with 10 hours at night. Drivers between 15 and 17 must pass driver's education. Full privilege at 18.

Utah. Learner's at 15 for six months with 40 hours supervised driving with 10 hours at night. Full privileges at 16 and six months with passengers and 17 for nighttime driving.

Vermont. Learner's at 15 for twelve months with 40 hours supervised driving with 10 hours at night. Full privilege at 16 and six months.

Virginia. Learner's at 15 and a half for nine months with 45 hours supervised driving with 15 hours at night. Full privilege at 18.

Washington. Learner's at 15 or 15 and a half without driver’s education for six months with 50 hours supervised driving with 10 hours at night. Full privilege at 18.

West Virginia. Learner's at 15 for six months with 50 hours supervised driving with 10 hours at night or none with driver's education. Full privilege at 17.

Wisconsin. Learner's at 15 and a half for six months with 30 hours supervised driving with 10 hours at night. Full privilege at 16 and nine months.

Wyoming. Learner's at 15 and a ten-day holding period. 50 hours supervised driving with 10 at night. Intermediate at 16 with a curfew between 11 pm and 5 am. No more than 1 passenger under 18. Full privilege at 16 and six months.

The varying rules concerning teen driving are voluminous but this is a quick overview. For more information check with your insurer or your local DMV. Many of these questions can also be answered in local driver's education courses which are often offered in high schools.

5.0out of 58 user reviews

Add new comment

CAPTCHA
This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.